Charles A. Lindbergh

Teacher of the Year nominations now open

Teacher of the Year nominations now open

Nominations are now open for the 2022 Alberta Muirhead Teacher of the Year Students Choice Award.  

This annual award is sponsored by the Dearborn Area Chamber of Commerce and presented by LaFontaine Automotive Group. The nomination deadline is Tuesday, March 8, at 5 p.m.  The online nomination form can be found on the Chamber’s website.

Paper nomination forms can also be printed from the Chamber’s website (scroll to the bottom of the page) or picked up at any Dearborn Public School or the District’s Administrative Service Center, 18700 Audette St., Dearborn.  Completed forms can be dropped off or mailed to the Dearborn Area Chamber of Commerce, 22100 Michigan Ave., Dearborn, MI 48124 or faxed to (313) 584-9818.  Adults may assist students in completing nominations when necessary.  No more than two teachers may be nominated per student.

New to the award program this year is a category for adult education teachers.

The Teacher of the Year Awards honor Dearborn Public Schools teachers.  Students may nominate any new or veteran teacher whom they feel has made an outstanding contribution to the teaching profession. Preschool through second grade students are asked to describe how their teacher makes learning fun.  Students in this category can include a nice drawing, if they wish, but it will not be part of the selection process. Third through fifth grade students must describe how their teacher has created a classroom where learning is positive and fun.  Middle school students (grades 6-8) are asked to explain how their teacher connects classroom learning with everyday life. Students in high school must describe how their teacher is preparing them to be college and career ready, specifically how the teacher motivates them to pursue a college degree, certification, trade apprenticeship, military service or job.  Adult education students should describe the impact the teacher had on their ability to complete a degree, diploma or certificate.

“I know so many of our teachers are deserving of this award, and I hope many of our students will take a few moments to nominate their favorite teacher.  Nominating a teacher for this award is a great way to honor them and show appreciation for the work they have done to create a

meaningful educational experience,” said Dearborn Public Schools Superintendent Glenn Maleyko. 

Applications will be assessed on the quality of the nomination, not on the number received.  Award judges are members of the Dearborn Area Chamber of Commerce Education Committee and are not provided with the teachers’ names. One winner from each category will be announced at a special ceremony to be held at the Ford Community and Performing Arts Center on Thursday, April 21st at 4:15 p.m.  This year’s ceremony will return to its usual April date after two years of celebrations delayed due to COVID concerns. 

Teachers selected to receive the Teacher of Year Award are recognized as positive role models who consistently provide unique, productive, positive classroom experiences. Winning teachers receive a $1,000 cash prize and a glass award commemorating their achievement. They also will join a select group of Dearborn teachers who have been recognized by the community for their dedication and passion for teaching. 

“I want to thank the Chamber of Commerce and all the sponsors for once again providing this event,” Dr. Maleyko added. “Our district is very fortunate to have so many great community partners willing to support and honor our hardworking teachers.”